10 Best Online Math Tutoring Programs in 2026: An Educator & Parent's PoV.

AI can now solve math problems in seconds. So why we need to learn math anymore? AI can't reason, judge or use math in a real situation. Hence, I am reviewing 10 popular online math tutoring programs on all factors plus this.

A student attending online math class.
Image for illustrative purposes only.

By Neelima Kotamraju, Educator and Curriculum Expert · Last reviewed: September 2026

I'm an educator with an experience of designing math and science curriculum for the U.S Common Core — which is exactly the lens I use when I look at a tutoring program as a parent. When I look at any tutoring program, I ask three questions: What does it teach, and in what order? Who teaches it? And what happens when my child moves up a grade?

I should also disclose: I work with Cuemath, and Cuemath is on this list. That's exactly why I held every program to the same standard. I used only facts published on each company's own website, and every section links back to its source.

With that said, here's where I land: in my opinion, Cuemath is the best 1:1 online math tutoring program that takes a child all the way from kindergarten through AP Calculus with the same tutor. If you need coverage across many subjects in one plan, Varsity Tutors is the strongest option. And for 24/7 homework help, check Tutor.com first, many U.S. public libraries offer it for free.

Key takeaways
  • Cuemath and Mathnasium are the only 2 math tutoring programs in the list that teach only math.
  • Cuemath classes start at $15 per class. The Princeton Review's 1:1 math tutoring costs $73 to $90 per hour.
  • Mathnasium and Kumon set prices center by center. Varsity Tutors does not publish membership prices.
  • Wyzant does not require tutor background checks. A parent can order one for $15.99. (source)
  • Tutor.com and The Princeton Review sell the same Homework Help plans.
Table of Contents

What are the best online math tutoring programs in 2026?

In my opinion, the top 5 best online math tutoring programs in 2026 are Cuemath, Varsity Tutors, The Princeton Review, Mathnasium, and Wyzant. But I have compared top 10 to make sure every need is touched on. Each one fits a different need. The table gives the one-line answer for each.

Scroll sideways to see every column →
ProgramBest forFormatGradesPrice on official site
Cuemath1:1 math tutoring focusing on school math, test prep, and real-world mathLive 1:1 onlineK-12Starts at $15 per class; the rate depends on plan and class length
Varsity TutorsMany subjects in one membershipLive 1:1 online, group classes, 24/7 helpK-12, college, adultNot published (store packs: $525 for 9 hours)
The Princeton ReviewWeekly 1:1 math in grades 6 to 12Live 1:1 online6-12 for 1:1 math$73 to $90 per hour
MathnasiumA math center plus an online optionCenter or online, shared roomK-12Set by each center (e.g. $449 a month)
WyzantChoosing your own tutor, lesson by lessonLive 1:1, online or in personAll levelsTutor sets rate; math average $33 to $55 per hour, plus 9% fee
BrighterlyLow-price 1:1 for grades 1 to 9, math and readingLive 1:1 online, 45 min1-9 on its pricing page$17.70 to $21.90 per lesson
Tutor.com24/7 homework helpOn-demand 1:1 chat and voiceK-12, college$39.99 to $339.99 a month, or free via many libraries
PrepMavenSAT and ACT math prepLive 1:1 online, or in person in Princeton, NJ9-12 test prepFrom $75 to $85 per hour
KumonDaily worksheet practice from preschool upWorksheets, center or select virtual classesAge 3 to high schoolSet by each center (e.g. $140 to $190 per subject a month)
PreplyA low-cost tutor you pick yourselfLive 1:1 online, 25 or 50 minNot statedTutor sets rate; US tutors average $30 per hour

How we ranked them: the order shows how well a family can stay in each program for years. It does not rate individual tutors. The next two sections explain the rest.

How we checked top 10 math tutoring programs

Switching programs has real costs. Your child starts over with a new tutor, a new placement test and a new way of teaching. As a curriculum designer, I see the order of topics as the part parents notice least and matter most. Fractions set up algebra. Algebra sets up calculus. A program that sees that whole path can fix a gap before it grows.

Stanford's National Student Support Accelerator lists "consistent, well-trained tutors" and sessions "3+ times per week for 10+ weeks" as parts of high-impact tutoring. It calls one-to-one "optimal."

How a program teaches matters too. AI can now solve most homework problems in seconds. What it cannot do for a child is reason through a new problem, judge whether an answer makes sense, or use math in a real situation. So next to the 6 points, I noted how each program teaches: does the child do the thinking, or follow steps?

So we scored each online math tutoring program on 6 points:

FactorWhat we looked for
Full grade coverageCovers elementary math through high school courses, including AP Calculus
Same tutorKeeps one tutor with your child over time
Test prep in the planSAT, ACT, AP or state-test prep inside the same program
Live teachingA person teaches your child live, not only practice sheets or software
Works anywhere in the USNot tied to a local center
Clear price and exit policyPrice published, and clear rules for pausing, cancelling and refunds
How it teaches (noted, not scored)Whether the child explains their thinking and solves real-world problems, or mainly repeats steps
Scroll sideways to see every column →
ProgramFull grade pathSame tutorTest prep in planLive teachingWorks anywhereClear price and exitHow it teaches (from its own site)
CuemathYesYesYesYesYesYesTeaches the skills AI can't: reasoning through new problems, explaining each step, and applying math to real situations
Varsity TutorsYesYesYesYesYesNoEach tutor uses their own methods and materials
The Princeton ReviewPartly (1:1 math starts at grade 6)YesSold separatelyYesYesYesTutors trained in 4 teaching methods (not named); Homework Help guides instead of giving answers
MathnasiumPartly (no AP course named)Not statedSold separatelyYesPartly (online runs through a local center)No (set by center)Teaching for understanding, with Socratic questioning
WyzantDepends on the tutorYes, if you rebookDepends on the tutorYesYesPartlyEach tutor plans their own lessons
BrighterlyPartly (pricing lists grades 1-9)Assigned tutorYesYesYesPartlyFoundation first; games in lessons
Tutor.comYesNo (on demand)YesYesYesYesSocratic method on the student's own homework
PrepMavenPartly (test prep; school math via sister site)YesYesYesYes (online)PartlyDiagnostic test, then drills, mini-lessons and test strategy
KumonPartly (no geometry in level chart)Center InstructorNot listedNo (self-learning)Partly (select centers only)No (set by center)Self-learning worksheets, each a small step harder
PreplyDepends on the tutorYesDepends on the tutorYesYesPartlyEach tutor plans their own lessons

This is our assessment from each math tutoring program's official site. I will discuss the reasons for each score in the program details below.

The 10 best online math tutoring programs, reviewed

Each math tutoring program section open with a quick review table, then key facts, the long-term fit, what works and what to watch.

1. Cuemath: Best for 1:1 Tutoring for School Math, Test Prep, and Real-World Math

Cuemath is a live 1:1 online math tutoring program for kindergarten through 12th grade. It teaches math only, with the same tutor, from early number sense to AP Calculus.

FactCuemath
FormatLive 1:1 online, on Cuemath's own platform with a shared whiteboard
SubjectsMath only
Grades and coursesK-12: Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2, Precalculus, AP Precalculus, AP Calculus AB and BC, IB Math
Test prepSAT Math inside the high school plan; state tests (STAAR, SBAC, MAP and more); AMC 8, Math Kangaroo
Class length and frequency40 or 55 minutes; 2 classes a week for K-8, 3 a week for high school
PriceStarts at $15 per class; the per-class rate depends on the plan and class length
Free first stepFree evaluation with a specialist, then a learning plan
TutorsExperienced, certified and background-verified tutors who go through extensive training before they teach
How it teachesTeaches the skills AI can't: reasoning through new problems, explaining each step, and applying math to real situations. Tutors follow "cue, don't tell": they ask a guiding question instead of giving the answer.

Can your child stay long-term? Yes. Cuemath's tutor page says tutors stay with students "for months or even years." The high school plan includes SAT Math at no extra price. The curriculum follows Common Core and state standards, and follows TEKS in Texas.

What works:

  • Thinking, not copying: tutors give cues, not answers. Your child explains each step in their own words and uses math in real situations. These are the reasoning and judgment skills AI can't do for them.
  • One path: the same program runs from K-2 number sense to AP Calculus BC.
  • Tutors parents love: Cuemath tutors build a bond with each student and go beyond standard tutoring. They stay with a student for months or years, and parents can ask to switch.
  • Parent view: a parent app shows progress, lets you message the tutor and reschedule classes.
  • Built-in practice: homework worksheets after class, plus a daily practice app.

What to watch:

  • Price by plan: classes start at $15, and the per-class rate depends on the plan and class length.
  • Refunds: refunds cover unused classes, pro-rata. You must ask at least 15 days before the 12-month mark from your invoice date.
  • ACT: the test prep pages do not list the ACT.
Sources: Cuemath FAQ · Our tutors · Frisco page (prices, grades) · SAT page · AP classes · Test prep · Refund policy · Cuemath teaching philosophy

See Where Your Child Stands in Math, For Free

A Cuemath specialist looks at how your child reasons across fluency, understanding, application and reasoning for their grade. You leave with a report and a plan. 100% free. No credit card needed.

Start with a Free Cuemath Evaluation Today.

Book a Free Evaluation

For Students in Grades K to 12

2. Varsity Tutors: best for many subjects in one membership

Varsity Tutors is a live online tutoring platform covering more than 3,000 subjects for K-12, college and adult learners. Its membership bundles 1:1 tutoring, group classes, 24/7 instant tutoring and AI study tools.

FactVarsity Tutors
FormatLive 1:1 online, 4-week group classes, 24/7 instant tutoring, self-paced tools
Subjects3,000+; math is one of many
Math coursesKindergarten math to college math, AP Calculus AB/BC, AP Statistics, IB, competition math
TutorsIndependent contractors who write their own lesson plans; background checked
PriceMembership price not published; ClassWallet store: 9 hours $525, 15 hours $795, 30 hours $1,495
Free first stepNot stated; a rematch and free next session (up to 2 hours) if the first session is not a fit
How it teachesEach tutor uses their own styles, methods and materials

Can your child stay long-term? Mostly. The course range is wide and the membership includes a dedicated tutor. The weak point is price: the main site shows no membership price or billing terms.

What works:

  • Breadth: one account covers math, science, languages and test prep.
  • Recorded sessions: parents can rewatch sessions.
  • Matching: the site says it matches on 90+ traits about the student.

What to watch:

  • Price: you get a plan only after the intake form or a call.
  • Refunds: the Terms of Use say fees are nonrefundable, except as required by law.
  • Teaching style: tutors build their own lessons, so method differs by tutor.
Sources: Math tutoring · How tutoring works · Store prices · Guarantee · Terms · Membership features

3. The Princeton Review: best for weekly 1:1 math in grades 6 to 12

The Princeton Review offers live online 1:1 math tutoring with the same tutor each week for grades 6 to 12. It also sells 24/7 Homework Help and SAT, ACT and AP prep.

FactThe Princeton Review
FormatLive online 1:1, same tutor weekly; 24/7 drop-in Homework Help
Math courses (1:1)Mid-Level Math (grades 6-8), Algebra I and II, Geometry, Trigonometry, Precalculus, Calculus I and II
Price (1:1 math)24 hours $2,160 ($90/hr); 60 hours $4,800 ($80/hr); a promo shows from $73/hr
Price (Homework Help)$39.99 to $339.99 a month for 1 to 10 hours
TutorsSubject exams, mock sessions, mentor review and a third-party background check
MatchingThe company picks the tutor; matching takes up to a week
How it teachesTutors are trained in "4 tried-and-true teaching methods" (not named on the page); Homework Help tutors guide students to solve problems themselves

Can your child stay long-term? From grade 6, yes. The 60-hour package covers a full school year with one tutor. For K-5, the family 1:1 math page does not apply.

What works:

  • Same tutor: one tutor each week, with a custom plan by the second session.
  • Test prep under one roof: SAT, ACT and AP courses and tutoring.
  • Low-cost backup: Homework Help runs about $29 to $40 per hour.

What to watch:

  • Upfront cost: the smallest 1:1 math package is 24 hours for $2,160.
  • Refunds: the enrollment terms say there are no refunds once 1:1 tutoring starts.
  • Guarantee: the guarantee page says the Grade A Guarantee ended for students who enrolled after July 15, 2026. Ask which guarantee applies before you buy.
Sources: 1:1 math tutoring · Pricing · Enrollment terms · Guarantees · Academic tutoring

4. Mathnasium: best for families who want a math center plus an online option

Mathnasium is a franchise of math-only learning centers for K-12, with an online option called Mathnasium@home. Online and in-center cost the same, and families can switch between them.

FactMathnasium
FormatFace-to-face teaching in a center or online; students work on their own plan with instructors nearby
SubjectsMath only
GradesK-12; online group for ages 4 to 6
FrequencyMathnasium advises 2 to 3 visits a week
PriceSet by each center; e.g. Westwood (Los Angeles) $449 a month for up to 10 one-hour sessions; San Ramon, CA $499 to $529 a month for 9 sessions
Free first stepFree verbal and written assessment
HomeworkNo Mathnasium homework; sessions can include help with school homework
How it teachesThe Mathnasium Method: teaching for understanding, not memorizing, using mental, visual, verbal, tactile and written methods and Socratic questioning

Can your child stay long-term? For K-12 school math, yes. The site lists courses through Precalculus and Calculus, but names no AP course. Price, hours and staff depend on your local center.

What works:

  • Math only: the whole program is math.
  • Custom plan: every child starts with an assessment and a personal learning plan.
  • Flexible format: one enrollment covers center and online visits.

What to watch:

  • Price varies: the two center pages we checked differ by about $50 a month and use different contracts.
  • Group size: the site never states the student-to-instructor ratio.
  • Refunds: refunds or credits depend on each center's policy.
Sources: Online tutoring · FAQ · Westwood center · San Ramon center · High school

5. Wyzant: best for choosing your own tutor, lesson by lesson

Wyzant is a marketplace of independent tutors, owned by IXL Learning, where parents pick and pay a tutor per lesson. It lists 7,115 math tutors and covers 300+ subjects.

FactWyzant
FormatLive 1:1, online in a browser studio or in person
Math coursesElementary math to linear algebra and differential equations; SAT, ACT, AP, IB, AMC tutors
PriceEach tutor sets a rate; math average $33 to $55 per hour; plus a 9% service fee
CommitmentNo packages, no subscription; pay after each lesson
Background checksNot required at signup; a parent can order one for $15.99
GuaranteeGood Fit Guarantee: first hour with a new tutor refunded if you ask within 30 days
How it teachesNo Wyzant curriculum; each tutor plans their own lessons

Can your child stay long-term? Yes, if you find a tutor you like and keep rebooking. There is no Wyzant curriculum, placement test or progress report, so the long-term plan sits with you and the tutor.

What works:

  • Choice: compare tutors by rate, reviews and hours taught before you book.
  • No lock-in: pay per lesson, stop any time.
  • In person: search local tutors by ZIP code.

What to watch:

  • Background checks: not required unless a parent orders one.
  • Real cost: a $60 per hour tutor costs about $65.40 per hour with the 9% fee.
  • Cancellation: each tutor sets their own cancellation policy.
Sources: Math tutors · Payment policies · Background check policy · Good Fit Guarantee · About

6. Brighterly: best low-price 1:1 option for grades 1 to 9, math and reading

Brighterly offers live 1:1 online math and reading lessons of 45 minutes. Its pricing page lists prices for grades 1 to 9.

FactBrighterly
FormatLive 1:1 online in Brighterly's own classroom
SubjectsMath and reading
GradesMost pages say K-12; the pricing and booking pages list grades 1 to 9
PricePer 45-minute lesson at 2 lessons a week: $21.90 (1 month), $21.40 (3 months), $20.20 (6 months), $17.70 (12 months)
Free first stepFree demo lesson
TutorsBachelor's degree, interview, background check; Brighterly assigns the tutor
How it teaches"Foundation first": fix the basics, then move to harder topics; games and interactive elements in lessons

Can your child stay long-term? Through middle school, yes. For high school, check fit first, since the pricing page stops at grade 9.

What works:

  • Price: among the lowest published per-lesson prices on this list.
  • Two subjects: math and reading in one place.
  • Reports: an AI lesson summary after each lesson, plus progress reports.

What to watch:

  • Rescheduling: 6 hours' notice, and only 1 in every 4 classes can be moved.
  • Missed classes: charged in full.
  • Cancelling: plans auto-renew, and you cannot cancel mid-term.
Sources: Pricing · Math tutoring · About · Terms of service

7. Tutor.com: best for 24/7 homework help, often free through libraries

Tutor.com gives on-demand 1:1 help 24/7 in 200+ subjects, with no appointment. Many families get it free through a public library, school or military program.

FactTutor.com
FormatOn-demand 1:1 by chat, voice and shared whiteboard
Math coursesElementary math to Calculus, AP Calculus AB/BC, AP Statistics, IB, SAT/ACT/PSAT math
Session lengthAverage 20 to 30 minutes
Price$39.99 to $339.99 a month (1 to 10 hours); 10 to 50 hour packs $349.99 to $1,449.99
Free accessThrough many libraries, schools and eligible military families
TutorsUS-based; 1.2% of 200,000+ yearly applicants accepted; third-party background check
How it teachesSocratic method; students bring their own homework, so there is no set curriculum

Can your child stay long-term? As a homework backup, yes. It is not built for a weekly plan with one tutor. You can save favorite tutors, but you may get a different tutor each time.

What works:

  • Any hour: help at 10 p.m. the night before a test.
  • Free first: check your library card before you pay.
  • No contract: cancel any time.

What to watch:

  • Short sessions: built for one problem at a time.
  • Minutes expire: unused monthly minutes do not roll over.
Sources: How it works · About us · Pricing FAQ · Free access · K-12 subjects · Plans

8. PrepMaven: best for SAT and ACT math prep

PrepMaven is a Princeton, NJ test prep company for SAT, ACT and SSAT, with its own tutors. For school math, it points families to its sister company, Princeton Tutoring.

FactPrepMaven
FormatLive 1:1 on Zoom, or in person in Princeton, NJ; a live online SAT MasterClass
FocusSAT, ACT, SSAT and PSAT; school subjects through Princeton Tutoring
Session90 minutes for test prep, after a full-length diagnostic test
PriceFrom $75 to $85 per hour (Standard), about $149 to $166 (Master), about $349 (Premier); SAT MasterClass $895
Free first stepFree consultation with a director
GuaranteeNext session free with a new tutor if the first is not a fit
How it teachesSessions cover missed questions, practice drills and mini-lessons, using PrepMaven's own coursebooks and strategy guides

Can your child stay long-term? For grades 9 to 12 test prep, yes. For K-8 school math, you would use Princeton Tutoring instead, which lists math from elementary school to AP Calculus.

What works:

  • Test focus: its SAT page splits SAT math into 27 categories and 84 skills.
  • Diagnostic first: every student starts with a full-length practice test.
  • Reports: Princeton Tutoring sends a progress report after every session.

What to watch:

  • Price: starting rates of $75 to $85 per hour are among the highest on this list.
  • Background checks: not stated on either site.
  • First session: Princeton Tutoring bills the first session, and its packages are non-refundable.
Sources: SAT tutoring · Academic tutoring · Terms · Princeton Tutoring math · Princeton Tutoring billing

9. Kumon: best for daily worksheet practice from preschool up

Kumon is a worksheet-based math and reading program run through local franchise centers. On its own site, Kumon calls its method "self-learning, not tutoring."

FactKumon
FormatSelf-paced worksheets on paper or tablet; center class twice a week; homework on the other days
SubjectsMath and reading
LevelsAge 3 to high school; counting to calculus
Daily workAbout 30 minutes per subject
OnlineVirtual classes at select centers; Kumon Connect puts worksheets on your own tablet
PriceSet by each center; 4 US centers: $140 to $190 per subject a month, $50 to $80 registration, $10 to $30 materials
Free first stepFree placement test
How it teachesSelf-learning worksheets, each one small step harder than the last; students redo work until it is 100% correct

Can your child stay long-term? For arithmetic and algebra practice, yes. Kumon's level chart has no geometry, and the site lists no SAT, ACT or AP prep.

What works:

  • Habit: daily short practice builds routine.
  • Wide range: from pencil skills to calculus.
  • Progress view: the myKumon portal shows levels and milestones.

What to watch:

  • Teaching style: Describes its own method as 'self-learning, not tutoring' — instructors watch and give hints rather than teach lessons.
  • Online access: virtual classes depend on your local center.
  • Cost: tuition is per subject, so math and reading double it.
Sources: Virtual classes · How Kumon works · Kumon Connect · Parent's Guide · Center example

10. Preply: best for a low-cost tutor you pick yourself

Preply is a tutoring marketplace focused mainly on languages, with math as one of 120+ subjects. Parents pick a tutor and subscribe to lessons with that tutor.

FactPreply
FormatLive 1:1 online, 25 or 50 minutes
Math tutors6,407 listed, from many countries
PriceTutor sets rate; average for US-based tutors $30 per hour; processing fee added at checkout
BillingEvery 28 days, minimum 4 lessons; unscheduled lessons expire at renewal
TrialPaid trial lesson; up to 2 free replacement trials with a new tutor
TutorsAge 18+, profile review, government ID check
How it teachesNo Preply curriculum; each tutor builds a plan after the trial lesson

Can your child stay long-term? Yes, if the tutor you pick teaches your child's next course. Preply has no math curriculum or placement test of its own.

What works:

  • Price range: average rates by tutor country run from $17 to $35 per hour.
  • Choice: filter by price, schedule and reviews, and watch intro videos.
  • Flexible length: switch between 25- and 50-minute lessons.

What to watch:

  • Background checks: criminal background checks are not mentioned on the pages we checked.
  • Use it or lose it: unscheduled lessons expire every 28 days.
  • Language focus: the study behind Preply's '3x faster' claim (linked on Preply's own progress-platform page) measured English learners — not math students.
Sources: Math tutors · Subscriptions · Charges · Tutor signup · Progress study

What are the refund and cancellation rules?

Refund rules differ more than prices do. Read them before you sign, especially for packages paid upfront.

ProgramCancel or pauseRefund rule on the official site
CuemathPause and reschedule in the appPro-rata refund of unused classes; ask at least 15 days before 12 months from invoice
Varsity TutorsRules in login-only account termsTerms of Use: fees nonrefundable, except as required by law
The Princeton Review 1:124-hour notice to cancel a sessionNo refunds once tutoring starts; unused hours lost after 90 days with no session
Tutor.com / Homework HelpCancel any timeProrated refund within 30 days of purchase
WyzantEach tutor sets a policyFirst hour with a new tutor refunded within 30 days
BrighterlyAuto-renews; cancel 3 business days before renewalAt Brighterly's discretion, unused lessons only
PreplyCancel 1 day before billingOnly if no lessons used that cycle; ask within 28 days
MathnasiumSet by center"Refunds or credits may be available" by center policy
KumonNot statedNot stated
PrepMaven / Princeton Tutoring24-hour session notice (Princeton Tutoring)Unused hours refunded within 30 days if not a fit; Princeton Tutoring packages non-refundable
Sources: Cuemath refund policy · Varsity Tutors terms · Princeton Review enrollment terms · Tutor.com pricing FAQ · Wyzant Good Fit Guarantee · Brighterly terms · Preply refunds · Mathnasium Westwood · Princeton Tutoring billing policy

Which online math tutoring program is best for your child's need?

Match the program to the need you have today and the grade your child will reach next.

If your child...Start withWhy
Needs help in several subjectsVarsity Tutors3,000+ subjects in one membership
Is in middle or high school and needs weekly 1:1 mathThe Princeton ReviewSame tutor weekly, grades 6-12
Gets right answers but can't explain howCuemathTutors cue instead of telling, so your child explains each step and applies it to real-world problems
Needs skills that still matter when AI can solve mathCuemathTeaches the skills AI can't: reasoning through new problems, explaining each step, and applying math to real situations
Learns better with a place to goMathnasiumCenter and online at the same price
Is in grades 1 to 9 and you want a low per-lesson priceBrighterlyFrom $17.70 per lesson
Needs daily arithmetic practiceKumonShort daily worksheets

Find the Gaps Before the Next Grade Does

A Cuemath specialist maps your child's reasoning, fluency, understanding and application for their grade. You get a report and a learning plan you can keep, whatever you decide. 100% free. No credit card needed.

Start with a Free Cuemath Evaluation Today.

Book a Free Evaluation

For Students in Grades K to 12

Not ready yet? Use our free app to explore Cuemath first.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best online math tutoring program for K-12?

In my opinion, Cuemath is the best online math tutoring program for K-12 because it builds the skills AI can't: reasoning through new problems, explaining each step and using math in real situations. Its tutors give cues, not answers, in live 1:1 classes from kindergarten to AP Calculus.

How much does online math tutoring cost per hour in 2026?

Online math tutoring starts at $15 per class at Cuemath and goes up to $73 to $90 per hour for The Princeton Review's 1:1 math tutoring. Wyzant math tutors average $33 to $55 per hour, plus a 9% fee. (source)

Do online math tutors have background checks?

It depends on the program. Cuemath, The Princeton Review, Tutor.com, Varsity Tutors, Brighterly and Mathnasium say their tutors are background checked, while Wyzant does not require checks and Preply's pages mention only an ID check.

Which programs offer online math tutoring for free?

US families can opt for Tutor.com free through a public library, school or military program. Cuemath has upgraded its app and made school math, test prep and enrichment math free of cost for every K-12 student.

Which online math tutoring program is best for SAT prep?

PrepMaven and The Princeton Review focus most on SAT and ACT prep. Cuemath includes SAT Math inside its high school plan, so a student can prep with the same tutor who teaches their school math.

Which online math tutoring program teaches math for building reasoning skills, not just steps?

Cuemath is the math tutoring program where tutors focus on building reasoning skills for math. Cuemath tutors give cues instead of answers, and children explain their thinking and solve real-world math problems. Mathnasium's site also describes teaching for understanding, with Socratic questioning.

How many days of math tuition is required in a week?

Stanford's National Student Support Accelerator mentions 3 or more sessions a week as part of high-impact tutoring.

Book a Free Evaluation

Share a few details, then pick a time that works for you.

+1

By signing up, you agree to Cuemath's Terms & Privacy Policy.

Sources

Research

Official program pages (checked September 2026)

  • Cuemath: FAQ, tutors, pricing ranges, refund policy
  • Varsity Tutors: math tutoring, ClassWallet store prices, terms
  • The Princeton Review: 1:1 math packages, enrollment terms, guarantees
  • Mathnasium: online tutoring, FAQ, Westwood and San Ramon center pages
  • Wyzant: math tutors, payment policies, background check policy
  • Brighterly: pricing, terms of service
  • Tutor.com: how it works, about us, pricing FAQ
  • PrepMaven and Princeton Tutoring: SAT tutoring, terms, billing policy
  • Kumon: virtual classes, Kumon Connect, Parent's Guide, center pages
  • Preply: math tutors, help center articles
Disclosure: I work at Cuemath, so factor that in. That's exactly why every fact in this guide is pulled from each program's own website — nothing here is my word against theirs.
Neelima Kotamraju
Neelima Kotamraju in
Educator and Curriculum Expert

I'm an educator and senior content writer. I've spent years in teaching and designing math and science curriculum, and my focus has always been on pedagogy and learner psychology, how a child moves from simply following steps to truly understanding an idea.